Typography Workshop| Developing a Typeface

Unfortunately I missed our latest typography workshop with Nick Deakin in which we are progressing with creating our own experimental typeface.

The first workshop involved choosing a phrase and sketching different typography approaches. By using my typography books, I gained lots of inspiration and managed to create a strong variation of type that read “cannot be arsed”. Thankfully I knew that in our latest workshop we were then developing a chosen typographic style and applying it to a larger scale. Some individuals worked on A4, and some on A3. However, I had to catch up in my own time, and decided to use A4 paper to cut out and form squared canvas’.

The plan was to design a letter per sheet of paper, and by working with a square canvas, it allowed me to be exact with my measurements and ensure consistency throughout my letters. From looking at my sketches from the first workshop, people seemed to like a variation of styles which began to influence my choice on which to develop. However I decided to my favourite style, one in which had plenty of room for development and adaptation.

The type was designed so that the letters had been cut in the middle and slowly beginning to fall apart. I called the type “divide”. When creating this, I first sketched everything in pencil. Consistency was key in this, therefore I ensured the exact measurements and angle dimensions were used. Once happy with the design I filled it in with black marker.

Divide

I am generally rather pleased with the outcome of this typeface. The process was relatively simple once I worked out how it can be designed, it was just rather time consuming.  Although happy, I feel as though there is definite room for improvement. In separating sections of the type, I was rather subtle, therefore might make them more disperse. I also really like the idea of drawing the letters big on A3/A2 and then using a scalpel to cut through the paper- physically making the divide. I think this would be a nice bit of experimentation which I will possibly try next workshop session.

