Rob Seminar | Good Practise of Contextual Records

In this morning’s lecture with Rob, we focussed on our contextual record. In his spare time, Rob gathered a collection of blog posts in which he thought were examples of good practise.

The posts covered a variety of subjects, and each had a different writing style. Rob’s intention was for us to analyse other people’s writing style in hope that it will help with our own. It also put into perspective that people write a varied amount, ranging from blog posts which had 300 words, to some which had over 2000. Rob said that each post is valid and that the length of writing doesn’t necessarily make it better. When blogging I try not to think about how much I am writing, and instead just stop when I run out of things to talk about.

In groups, we distributed printed out blog posts so that we could individually analyse, discuss and then switch. When analysing I actually came across one of my own. This was a 300 word post I wrote about tutor Johnny Lindley. It was nice to see that Rob thought one of my posts was a good example of the contextual record. I noticed how different people can write when blogging. I tend to use my blog as a diary and said what I have done, and what I thought about. Whereas some people write very analytically resources online material like an essay. However this does not make it better. Any form of writing is good for blogging- even if it is just a list.

I found this lecture insightful and it spurred me on for proceeding with my contextual record. I hope that in next session, the seminar will focus more on the essay writing which I am struggling with.

