After Effects | Production Showreel Tutorial

In this morning’s tutorial with Sara we looked at creating a showreel from our work throughout the academic year. This includes our tutorials in:

  • Looping
  • Rotascoping
  • Hand drawn digital effects
  • 3D Cameras
  • Information graphics

To give us some inspiration, we were shown a showreel for an american designer and animator Adam Gault. Sara told us that his work is highly considered in the industry. I really liked the way that he had animated his work to match the music whilst still maintaing a consistent flow.

When creating a showreel, it is important to think of the order in which you work will play. It is always good to start and end with a good project, sometimes one that may create a talking point. This can be something with an in depth process or developed story. Sara advised us to not show our projects in the order that they were created- although sometimes this can be good to show progression.

Firstly, I created my start and end scene which included my name and details along with my brand identity logo. By including this I hoped that it ensured professionalism. I decided to keep it relatively simple so that it does not overpower the rest of video. I then decided to move on to working with audio. To do this I searched for a copyright free track online. I found it difficult to choose something that went well with my work, but finally settled on a funky beat.

There was a lot of unnecessary repetition in the audio, therefore I trimmed my favourites parts in After Effects. Once done I began adding my projects to the composition. When working, it is useful to use shortcuts to speed up the process. By holding shift + cmd + D, you can split the selected layer. This was how I trimmed by audio. I tried to structure my projects to fit with the music- which took some time.

However, overall I am very happy with how it has turned out. It was a lot better than I had expected and was suprisingly relatively easy to do. This is because the projects had already been complete, so it was now just the case of putting it together nicely. I won’t be applying for any placements within animation or motion graphics, therefore shouldn’t need to use my showreel within my portfolio. However, I am really glad that I did it, and have the opportunity to show it to anyone interested.

