Perception Projection | Cinema 4D

Perception Projection

From doing the Cinema 4D tutorial in Modelling, I felt a little more confident with the software. I managed to pick up the basic Modelling tools such as select, polys and extrude, and even got familiar with the shortcuts. Therefore I decided to experiment. In the tutorial, there was no finished or rendered outcome- it simply went through some of the basics, therefore all I had to show was some screenshots. However I wanted to experiment and create something which shows my newfound knowledge of Cinema 4D and link it to the MOO brief. Fascinated by Truly Design’s Pegasus Anamorph and the playful perception between digital and physical; I decided to attempt creating something similar.

I began by setting up my scene in Cinema 4D. Using the object tool, I created a cube in which could be manipulated into forming a wall. I intended on creating a scene of a hallway or corridor with angles and objects that my image can work with. I wanted to give it a perspective view as if looking down the corridor and make one of the walls angular so that the image is tested. I decided to include pillars to give the scene a little more life, and make it look realistic by adding a floor and ceiling. I found it quite difficult to ensure the objects were structured correctly by their positioning and angle. It was useful to use the different perspective views such as the above view to ensure the walls met.

Once the objects were set up, it was time to import my image. From speaking with Jay, he advised me to research the Camera Projection tool and helped me to set it up.  But firstly, I needed an image to import. I decided to use the illustrations from my previous experimentation by combining and overlapping them on top of one another. Once I was happy with this, I exported it as a jpeg, where I could use in Cinema 4D. To do this I needed to create a material, within the material you go onto the texture options and choose the image from you documents. With the material created, I dragged it onto the objects intended for projecting. Instantly, the image is wrapped around the objects like paper. Therefore you have to change the projection to Camera Mapping in which keeps the image flat and is directed to the projection camera.

Illustrationstogether

This created the basic projection effect, however, it did not yet look realistic, and therefore I experimented with the Luminate tool (which replaces the need for a light) and the colour tool.  This was recommended by my tutor Jay; however, I didn’t feel satisfied with it. My friend Joe then suggested that I add a couple of lights and remove the Luminate tool.  Joe has had a little more experience in Cinema 4D than I have, therefore was happy to take his advice. He also helped me in rendering my image to make sure the quality comes out best.  Overall I am really happy with the outcome of my render. I feel as though you can clearly see my influence from Truly Design, but yet I have taken it very differently in creating it on digitally. By using the illustrations, it also shows my inspiration from MOO.

 

