Friday Seminar | Annotated Texts

In today’s seminar with Rob, we were instructed to bring in three annotated pieces of text. The text had to be around 500 words. In groups of three we were to discuss the merits of the text pieces and decide which is a strongest candidate which can be taken onto the next stage in redacting the reading.

I chose the piece “Let There Be Peace” by Lemn Sissay. This poem is recently been installed to the side of the Creative Arts Building at University; this was the reason in which I chose it. I have seen the poem on numerous occasions but never read it properly, therefore I felt this was a good opportunity. The poem is quite interesting, it engages with the reader and uses create visual detail for you to imagine. I like it, because it makes you think, and it is quite uplifting. The poet Lemn Sissay has installed Let There Be Peace in more than one location, such as The University of Manchester.

The second piece of text that I brought was “Credo” by Bob Noorda. This is a manifesto in which I am familiar with, but never read it properly. It also could not be any more different than the Let There Be Peace poem. The manifesto is about something I am passionate about- which is design. Therefore I am generally more interested in it. The manifesto is basically Bob stating his views on design- it doesn’t make them correct, it is all about personal preference. For example, I don’t agree that type should have the best possible legibility. This is quite a modernist thought. Sometimes type can be just as effective, if not more when designed less legible. It allows you think think, an question what is being said.

Annotated texts

For next session, we are to fill in Rob’s provided indesign document. This will include: our chosen text piece, an explanation of our choice and a redacted version of the reading. Therefore we must print pages 2 and 3 onto an A3 size of paper for Rob to review. So far I think I will choose the Credo manifesto. Not only am I more interested in it, but I think it will provide a better redacted version.

