Celebrity Culture | Provocative and Controversial Events

From “Stereo Graphics” I was inspired by “A decade of design” by photographer Bela Borsodi who has created scenes representing significant events in design over the past decade. Not only was I inspired by the concept, but also by the clean slick professionalism of their photography. This led to my research of controversial and provocative events within celebrity culture.

When doing my research, I ensured that I used a variety of sources for more options. In doing this, I noticed the same events appearing, this gave me a gage on which events were most controversial and provocative. I chose the events that were most frequent from my sources as well as ones in which I thought were most memorable and recognisable.

The first subject I decided to include was the iconic kiss between Britney Spears and Madonna. At the time it caused much controversy and is still remembered to this day. Following this I chose Britney’s breakdown in 2007 when she shaved her head and attacked the paparazzi. Around this time, Paris Hilton was under the spot light; her sex tape in particular took to many tabloids. My next two subjects caused controversy on the red carpet. This is when Lady Gaga turned up in a dress made of meat, and Transformers star Shia Labeouf with a bag on his head labelled “I am not famous anymore”.

My final subjects are more recent, including Miley Cyrus and Nicki Minaj. Many young adults have grown up with Miley as “Hannah”, therefore seeing her twerking sexually in front of Robin Thicke, and swinging naked on a wrecking ball was quite shocking. Miley’s music career has become huge due to her provocative methods. However this year Nicki Minaj’s “Anaconda” has taken over Wrecking Ball’s views on YouTube due to much booty shaking in the jungle.

Controvertial events in Celebrity culture

