Gerald Scarfe

I am pleased with the outcomes after exploring pop culture and decided to take a few steps back in the project. The main thing that attracted me to Holloman was the creatively amusing images, and like the article, I then discovered a deeper meaning. I wanted to now focus on this idea of humour and ridicule but still representing a topical issue. This led my research to satire.

Satire is the use of humour, irony, exaggeration or ridicule to expose and criticize people’s stupidity, particularly in the context of contemporary politics or other issues. During my research I saw a lot of quirky sketched drawings, the kind that you would see in the back pages of newspapers. These images were witty, playful and of obviously used humour. This led me to the British satirical cartoonist Gerald Scarfe who has worked with magazines such as: Punch and Private Eye, before moving on to the Sunday Times where he created political illustrations of figures such as Boris Johnson and Tony Blair.

Scarfe also illustrated for Disney’s Hercules, and directed the animation for Pink Floyd’s “The Wall”. His work regularly appears in periodicals in the UK and worldwide. I enjoy Scarfe’s caricature style of work. Like caricature, it’s a little bit daring, different and not everyone will like it. I however admire how he ridicules and creates light humour in his work, whilst still addressing the issue.

Boris Johnson and Nigel Farage are walking caricatures; there’s not a lot you can add. The Nick Cleggs are the hardest to do – bland, conventionally good-looking faces. You can’t caricature someone who’s not recognisable: it’s a sign they’ve arrived.

