Landscape Research Group: Brief One

Now that I have finished my first year at University, I still want to keep busy over summer and whilst working I intend on assigning myself personal graphic design projects.  This will hopefully gain me experience and widen my skills and knowledge.

I was informed about a project called the Landscape Research Group, in which consists of 5 mini briefs open to interpretation supported with research. My application for this project was successful and I have recently been assigned my first brief.

Brief Name: Image

Please source an image of the following 10 things:

  1. a sandwich
  2. a animal
  3. Water
  4. a fold
  5. Conversation
  6. Pattern
  7. Light
  8. Noise
  9. Speed
  10. Death

I should spend at least 2 hours on this project, and email my final singular or Indesign file, 10 images to the project leader.  I should also provide text stating how I sourced each image and how I feel it is relevant.

I had no idea what the first brief would be and my initial reaction was surprise. The brief seems fairly straightforward, however I was expecting something more specific and commercial. Yet, I look forward to beginning.  The brief is intentionally open for interpretation so my approach is one of many. The 10 subjects are very diverse, therefore  it will be a challenge to create the 10 images within the same style. As I am going on holiday in three days, I need to choose something fairly quick and simple, especially as it is only the first brief.

I Intend to blog my progress throughout all briefs within this project.

