Magazine Visual Research

For my New Visual Language project, I decided it would be wise to gather a collection of images which show a range of different magazine layouts, structures and grids, and therefore hopefully will help me decide on the approach that I want to take.

Ideally I want the structure of my magazine to be influenced by Modern/Post Modernism research, rather than just choosing a layout or structure that looks “nice”;  I need to ensure that It would work well with the content of my work. However putting Modernism and Postmodernism aside, I still have to create a magazine in which I want to be strong and visually showcase my work, therefore below shows examples of different layouts, grids and structures which I got from books.

 

Also, please check out my Magazine Design Pinterest board in which I have pinned various examples of what I think look like visually effective magazines.

