Earth Artifact: Final Piece Idea

I want to create a series of images, visually inspired by Dawn Gardner’s style of work which includes a little bit of everything from my experimentation and development within the project.  I intend for it to be a collaboration of work influenced by my research.

I was always interested to include my created type within my final pieces, however, the type itself is more visually effective and less practical, therefore you wouldn’t exactly write an essay with it because it isn’t the easiest to read. Therefore I intend to incorporate it within my final piece as a visual structure or template to work with. Each letter has a strong use of shapes- like Dawn Gardner’s work, and I will combine my type style with other work, such as my Illustrations to create a collection of visually effective images. I have experimented in this style before, to see this click here.  It is basically taking this experimentation further by including my type amongst others to create a collection of visuals.

However, I want my final pieces to represent a deeper meaning and to be symbolic.  This decision was made when researching and experimenting with semiotics. Therefore,  I want to include a theme which has been  throughout my project- “what does it mean to be human?” I intend to use my created questionnaire providing numerous answers to this question from a range of individuals so that each visual of my final pieces will represent one the answers to “what it means to be human”- from the perspective of different humans.  By including my type, it allows my collection of final piece visuals to spell out “Only Human”, which has been a phrase explored from the outset of the project.

In order to do this I need to establish what answers from the questionnaire are going to be representing each Type visual.  Therefore I went through each question to see the ones suitable.  I intend to do it in a poem style, where each letter will start off the sentence for the answer to the question.

Below shows the possible answers to “what it means to be human”  for each final piece letter.

O

  • “Observe, record, develop- being different to other creatures”.
  • “Organs, skin, hair and a developed brain and consciousness”.
  • “Observe and give meaning to life”.

N

  • “No Idea”
  • “Normal, nothing special about it, ya get me”.
  • “Not to be perfect, to be fallible but have a degree of decency towards ones fellow race”.
  • “Narcotics, consume alcohol, party and breed”.
  • “Not only to have a functioning brain and heart but to have a soul”.
  • “No matter what anybody thinks about you- being human is being you”.

L

  • “Live life to the fullest.  Follow your dreams and enjoy yourself”.
  • “Live life and experience independently and with others”.
  • “Love and compassion are necessities, not luxuries, without them we cannot survive”.
  • “Love, family and friends”.
  • “Love, care, create and imagine”.
  • “Learning”.
  • “Love, laugh and make a little life of happiness for yourself”.

Y

  • “You should be polite, kind-hearted, and thankful”.
  • “You should be yourself, no matter what anybody thinks of you”.
  • “Yourself- no matter what anyone thinks about you.  Being Human is being you”.

 

H

  • “Have felt pain in your own life and with that, relieve others”.
  • “Happiness”.
  • “Hard to explain or understand”.
  • “Humans are the worst creatures on the planet- all we do is destroy it”.

U

  • “Understanding one another”

M

  • “Making mistakes and learning from them”.
  • “Make your dreams come true”.
  • “Man kind with rights and freedom”.
  • “Mammal descended from apes with organs, skin hair and a developed brain and consciousness”.
  • “Means the freedom to love, laugh and make a life of happiness for yourself”.

A

  • “Achieve, discover and innovate in whatever we do”.
  • “Alive and share what we love”.
  • “Ability to observe, record and develop”.
  • “Achieve what you want”
  • “Able to make mistakes and learn from them”
  • “Awesomeness”.

N

  • “No Idea”
  • “Normal, nothing special about it, ya get me”.
  • “Not to be perfect, to be fallible but have a degree of decency towards ones fellow race”.
  • “Narcotics, consume alcohol, party and breed”.
  • “Not only to have a functioning brain and heart but to have a soul”.
  • “No matter what anybody thinks about you- being human is being you”.

 

I am quite happy with this idea and look forward to pursuing it. I like the way in which in ties everything together- it sounds very in depth and complex, but to me, because I have been through every stage of the project it makes complete sense.  I am slightly worried about how long it will take me to complete the 9 visuals for my Final Piece, however I intend to start soon, and wish to include it within my “New Visual Language” project.

 

