Photography Etching

In college, we looked closely at photography within our graphic design course. I feel that photography is good to include with graphic design work because it can lead to using it in future for experimental reasons.  Whilst at college, we were introduced to photography etching- scratching into photography and film. There are different methods to photography etching depending on the desired look you want, commonly it is used through film.  However we were simply introduced the basic procedure in which we scratched into photographic glossy prints. The thicker the print, the better the outcome.

Photography Etching

When researching blind art, the use of touch interested me, and the method in which Esref Armagan uses reminded me of the photography etching that we looked upon in college.  I therefore decided that I would try photography etching myself, and see if the outcome is similar or at least reflects on the Esref Armagan drawing method. Would a blind person be able to feel this and understand what it is? Below shows 2 printed photos from my gestures photo shoot which I scratched into using a pin. I printed them with a glossy finish, however I feel that if the paper was thicker it would not only have been easier to do, but looked and felt more effective.

Photographic etching experiments

 

