Refined Typeface

My intention was to refine both my El Lissitzky inspired typeface, as well as my Herbert Bayer inspired typeface.  This is because I think they are my strongest.

Out of the two I favoured my El Lissitzky typeface.  This is because I thought it looked very interesting. I liked the use of shapes and how they manipulate the type. However I felt as though my Herbert Bayer was the strongest.  This typeface was more consistent and its structure was strong, whereas my El Lissitzky typeface was all over the place, yet, it had potential.  This is why I chose to refine only the El Lissitzky typeface rather than them both.  I thought it had great potential, but can be vastly improved.  Whereas I was quite unsure what more I could do with the Herbert Bayer typeface. Below shows my refined typeface.

Refined Typeface

When looking at my El Lissitzky inspired typeface, there were letters that were stronger than others.  I much preferred the letters that had a simplistic structure, I found them to be well thought out, and although simple, effective.  Therefore I decided when refining my type I would focus on this aspect so that it would all look consistent and professional.  Although I didn’t refine my Herbert Bayer inspired typeface, I used its strong and well thought out structure as a means of refining my El Lissitzky typeface.  Overall I am very happy with the outcome, and look forward as to how it can be taken further.

