Typography Workshop

Today was out next workshop continuing with our typographic task- creating our own type face.  Before the session I ensured I had three good examples of type face which I had created inspired by an existing style.  My first type face experiment was inspired by El Lissitzky, my second by Herbert Bayer, and my third by Wolfgang Weinhart.

My tutor John seemed to be impressed with all three experiments, however he favoured the first and the second. I like the first because it looks very interesting with good use of shapes, and the second because it is something very different; the type isn’t obvious in either styles because of the use of shapes and make each letter. For next Monday’s typography workshop, I intend to have refined both styles using grid paper.  This is because there are some stronger letters than others, and in order to create a finished type face they must all be strong and show consistency.

