Kenneth Martin Experimentation

When looking at Kenneth Martin’s Chance and Order Series, it looks very complex, however this is due to his method of creation- chance and order.

For my first experiment I didn’t want to get too complex, therefore decided to stop generating lines once all the numbers and intersection points had been used, rather than going back over them again. I addition to this, I didn’t want my work to be too simply to Martin’s, making it my own- taking inspiration.  I chose to work in a surface of 16cm x 8 cm; not for a particularly reason, other than I wanted to start of small.  In a similar method, I put numbers into a bowl from 1-45 to cover the intersection points within my working area.  I picked a pair of numbers, would make a note of them, mark them on the grid, and connect them to create a line. Below shows my experiment and method of creation.

Kenneth Martin 1

With my second experiment I wanted to use a bigger scale, 12cm x 12cm, being square it is more the size that Kenneth Martin would work with.  Again I did this in the same way as the previous, randomly picking numbers and marking them on a grid.  I think it creates a simply but interesting visual.  I really enjoyed this procedure of creation, it is very interesting and when looking at the image you would no idea how much depth is actually behind it.  It just looks like lots of lines on page, but there is structure and method to it- chance and order.  Below shows my second experiment.

Kenneth Martin 2

Looking back at Martin’s work, I realised that for every pair of numbers and one line, he would take up an entire strip of the cubed structure to create his line- basically thicker lines which he would then colour in.  I felt as though it looked better like this, therefore I wanted to try working back into my previous experiments.

Experiment Variation

Using tracing paper, I worked on top of my grids so that each line was thicker.  Personally I was not all that keen on its appearance; it looked too busy and would not work in my favour.  Therefore I remained with my single lines, because it is my take on Kenneth Martin’s style; I am still glad however that I tried this variation.

Further Experimentation

Using my scans of my grid experiments, I decided that I would re-create each experiment digitally, taking the experimentation a step further.  I was intrigued as to how it would look, intending on adding colour. Below shows my first re-creation of experiment 1.

Digital Variations 1 digital

The top  is the exact line structure as done with the grid simply with colour.  Like Kenneth Martin did I decided to explore visually with my generated lines by duplicating the lines and rotating.  The black lines show the duplication more clearly.

This process was then repeated for my second grid experiment.  Like the change in size I decided to do a change of colour.  Also, I repeated the process of duplication.

Digital Variations 2

I am glad I tried the duplication and rotation because I think it creates an interesting visual, and like Martin’s work looks complex and has an “endless structure”.  I am quite pleased with my experimentation inspired by Kenneth Martin. They appear to look very similar, but in fact are completely different- “same same but different”.

