“I am for an art” Inspired Manifesto

In today’s theory lecture, we were introduced to our new project, “Manifesto”. After we were given a little insight as to what a manifesto is, we were given an example.  This was “I am for an Art” by Claes Oldenburg. Which can be viewed here As a response to this, we were told to write our own form of the manifesto poem, keeping the same structure. Below is my Manifesto recreation of Claes Oldenburg’s “I am for an Art”.

Design is a language we all share, however some speak louder than others

I am for a design that is controversial, a head turner; a shocker

I am for a design which is bold and breaks the boundaries

I am for a design because it is all I see; it is design that helped me discover me

Design is the unknown, the unexpected, and the unappreciated

I am for a design of manipulation, persuasion, and fascination

I am for a design you want to understand

I am for a design because I can express myself, and not be judged

Design is a vision not everybody can see

I am for a design that is obvious and subtle

I am for a design which thinks outside the box, draws you inside, and shows you something new

I am for a design because I am able to meet my observation with never ending wonder

Design is the unique, undecided, and the underestimated

I am for a design of the past, present, and future, the design of a different place, era and culture

I am for a design you sympathise, emphasise and categorise

I am for a design

Design is all I am

