Open Market Photo Shoot

I thought it would be beneficial to visit Huddersfield’s second hand Open Market.  Many artists/sculptors (like Joseph Cornell) use found objects in their work.  By doing this, I think it makes the art more interesting and intriguing as each item will have its own history and background.

Visiting the Market allowed me to see all the possible materials and media that could be used for my “Cabinet”. I kept reflecting on the brief, and keeping an eye out for anything of use; for example, there were old toys, photographs, tea sets, and film which could represent personal themes. Whilst there I seemed to be particularly interested in items from different countries and cultures.  I have always been fascinated by places around the world, and looking at items from these places was enjoyable. Besides the purpose for the project, I found the Market very interesting and have made numerous trips since.

