Ideas Mind Map

Initial Ideas

I had a lot of initial ideas; as you can see. I thought it would be a good idea to mind map all my ideas, exploring the themes of the project and potential outcomes.

Firstly I mind mapped the specifications of the brief, that way I can easily look upon the areas that I thought were most important, rather than flicking through the assessment brief. As the project was supposed to be “personal” and “capture experiences” and “ephemeral moment”, I thought it would be best to include possible themes for the project, from my childhood and upbringings.  Themes such as: birthdays, imagination, toys, games, innocence, memorabilia, etc.

When we were given the brief, and looked at work of Joseph Cornell, I immediately had interest in creating a “physical” cabinet rather than virtual.  Therefore I mind mapped different artists, or artistic methods I could use when creating my “Cabinet Of Curiosity”.  These ideas quickly entered my head, methods such as: inks, paints, scans, glass, crayon art, paper, etc. This simply allowed me to weight out my possibilities and acted useful to look upon. Below shows a mood board of a mixed collection of artists which were recommended for the brief. I thought this would be beneficial to look at to gain inspiration; however none of the artists particularly stood out to me apart from Richard Hamilton and Joseph Cornell.

Artists Mood Board

The brief stated that the project could include “ideas from the world” and “social and political environments”, therefore I included different themes that could be represented from this aspect; global affairs such as: earthquakes, poverty,  global warming, economy, etc. However I immediately did not think I would pursue to represent any of these themes.  This is because I don’t particularly feel strong enough about any social, political or global issues in which I could create a project based around. I felt as though the project must be personal to me, and If I was to choose a theme such as those, it wouldn’t have been.

