Lucinda Rogers: Line Art Experimentation

Although I was doing rather well with the project at this stage, all I really had was some photos, collage and scans, and I did not think it would be enough to create my final pieces.  Therefore I wanted to cover one more contextual for experimentation, something that could use my photography and my scans- creating strong visuals that could be used in my final pieces.

Whilst researching I came across examples of Line Art.  In college I had used an artist called Zoe More O’Ferrall when experimenting with line art, this was the first time I had ever done it, and I created some simple yet strong visuals.  These images were simple but effective because they showed only the outline of an image, with few other bits of detail.

Click here to view examples of Zoe More O’Ferrall’s Line Art

I thought this line art technique would look very effective using my photography and object scans, therefore I began to research into Line Art more for other examples. I came across a British  artist and illustrator called Lucinda Rogers. Unlike Zoe More O’Ferrall’s neat  digital finish, Rogers work looked more messy but artistic, this is because incorporates the use of pen and ink, watercolour, gouache and crayon in her work. I think her style is very unique and the simplicity of the drawing combined with strokes of colour leave an appealing image which can be used for different purposes according to the content within the image.  As you can see below, Rogers does a lot of work with buildings and streets, which is also why it interested me in regard to the brief. However her technique can work with other content such as objects and people.  More examples of her work are shown at http://www.lucindarogers.co.uk/.

Mood Board

I was inspired by the work of Lucinda Rogers and although I would have loved to attempt her technique of Line Drawings, I took inspiration from her work and had my own method.  However, visually my work (shown below) looks more similar to the work of Zoe More O’Ferrall’s.  This is because I digitally created the line art which left more of a neat clean finish. But, the content within my images are better linked with Lucinda Rogers as she also represents the street and people through her work. At this stage I was happy to leave my line art black and white because I thought it looked more visually effective; however, if I decide to use them with my final pieces them I will include colour, depending on how it looks.

Slide 19

On Photoshop, I used my photography and objects scans, working on top of them so that the line art would be precise to the original image. This was done using the line and brush tool.  Above shows each line individual line drawing which I put together one page for an easier overview. Doing that many line drawings was rather time consuming, however I was pleased with the outcome and hoped that they could be used in my final pieces.

