After Effects: Importing Files

This tutorial was all about importing files into After Effects. There are different ways you can import a file into After effects, you can simply go to file and import, you can right click in the project window and select import, or you can drag the file right into the window. The shortcut for doing it is “cmd + I” on the keyboard. I experimented with this with the different files that Jay had provided for us.

01 city

As well as the different importing methods, Tutor Jay, also covered some basic considerations that may be necessary when starting a new After Effects project. As After Effects supports a large range of file types, it is important to understand them and how it works with After Effects, for example, files such as JPEGs, do not get imported with a certain set duration, therefore you need to edit it. After Effects file sizes can be quite big, so it is important to understand the output size before you take on a project in After Effects. Also, when saving projects which involve media that has been imported, such as images, sound, video; it is important to save them images separately within a close range of the After Effects file. I found this out the hard way- losing my images and restarting my task. However, if the images are first not found, it will give you the option to search for them and place them back in.

Although there are certain aspects of After Effects that are similar to Photoshop, I still think it will take me some more time to get used to it. I found the tutorial rather useful nevertheless.

