Week 1, Task 1: Write a story based on ideas from newspaper articles and magazines

Our first task given to us, was to create a story.  The story was supposed to be influenced by existing articles from a newspaper or magazine.

At first I was quite unsure as to why we needed to make a story, and my initial response was to panic! I haven’t written a successful story since High School! I tried looking through various newspapers and magazines but nothing stood out to me as potential. After looking at articles online, I then found one of interest from the Daily Mail Website.

Click here to view article

The article intrigued me as I thought it was a rather peculiar story, but also, it left a lot of untold information.  For such an odd story there was no depth behind it, It simply told what had happened. Therefore I took this as my opportunity to give the story depth.

